Find A Doctor

× Close

Locations & Directions

× Close

Services & Specialties

× Close

Search Ochsner

× Close

Alumni Awards

Outstanding Alumnus Award

In 1999, the Ochsner Alumni Association began presenting an Outstanding Alumnus Award to a former resident. Frank A. Riddick, Jr., MD, presented the first award to Thomas E. Weiss, MD, at the 1999 Homecoming Banquet. Appropriately, the award is named the "Thomas E. Weiss, MD, Outstanding Alumnus Award." Nomination forms are sent to all Alumni to suggest an individual who has exemplified an outstanding job as a physician, colleague, and alumnus of Ochsner Clinic Foundation.

Thomas E. Weiss, M.D. Outstanding Alumnus Award – Past Recipients

  • Kendrick K. Jeong, M.D. 2015
  • Samuel R. Money, M.D. 2014
  • Bernard T. Ferrari, M.D. 2013
  • Congressman Charles W. Boustany, Jr., M.D. (Thoracic-Cardiovascular Surgery '86)
  • Gordon McFarland, M.D. (ORTHO '65) 2008
  • Myrddin “Merv” Rees, M.D. (GS ’82) 2007
  • Thomas P. Wood, M.D. (PATH ’67) 2006
  • John Cooksey, M.D. (OPTH ‘72) 2005
  • Daniel “Stormy” Johnson, M.D. (RAD ‘69) 2004
  • J. Byron Gathright, M.D. (CRS ‘63) 2003
  • Charles B. Wilson, M.D. (GS ‘60) 2002
  • Seymour F. Ochsner, M.D. (RAD ‘53) 2001
  • John E. Ray, M.D. (CRS ‘53) 2000
  • Thomas E. Weiss, M.D. (GIM ‘47) 1999

Outstanding Fellow

  • Tracey L. Henry, M.D. 2014
  • George Gilly, M.D. 2013
  • Nicholas Forth, M.D. 2011
  • Ryan P. McDonald, M.D. 2007

Ochsner Alumni Society

The Ochsner Alumni Society is an exclusive inner circle organized in spring 2000. The Society represents motivated individuals who by their philanthropic donations and/or years of outstanding service to Ochsner are part of this elite group.

Lifetime membership dues are placed in a permanently endowed fund with only the interest used for Alumni activities. The cost is a one-time fee of $1,000. Lifetime Members are a part of the inner society, which also includes Outstanding Alumni and Honorary Alumni.

Devinder S. Bhatia, M.D. (Houston, TX)
TCV 1995 and GS 1997

Honorary Alumni

The Ochsner Alumni Association of the Ochsner Clinic Foundation began a tradition in 2000 to honor faculty members for outstanding service over the years. The Ochsner Alumni Association designates these individuals as Honorary Alumni.

  • James Arens, M.D.
  • David E. Beck, M.D.
  • Ralph B. Bergeron, M.D.
  • Lawrence Blonde, M.D.
  • Edward I. Bluth, M.D.
  • John S. Bolton, M.D.
  • John C. Bowen, M.D.
  • William Brannan, M.D.
  • Alan Burshell, M.D.
  • R. Brent Butcher III, M.D.
  • Edward S. Connolly, MD
  • Walter Culpepper, M.D.
  • John O. Dampeer, Jr., M.D.
  • Michael E. DeBakey, M.D.
  • Paul DeCamp, M.D.
  • Adolphus William Dunn, M.D.
  • Rudolph H. Ehrensing, M.D.
  • Donald T. Erwin, M.D.
  • Thomas G. Ferguson, M.D.
  • Edward D. Frohlich, M.D.
  • William L. Geary, MD
  • Larry Hollier, MD
  • Francis E. Lejeune, Sr., MD
  • William Locke, M.D.
  • William M.P. McKinnon, M.D.
  • Noel Mills, MD
  • John L. Ochsner, M.D.
  • George A. Pankey, M.D.
  • George H. Porter III, M.D.
  • Richard Re, M.D.
  • Frank A. Riddick, Jr., M.D.
  • Michael Sullivan, M.D.
  • Cliff H. Van Meter, Sr., M.D.
  • Susan Vogel, M.D.
  • Thom Zimmerman, M.D.