To contact the program, call

504-736-4615

Donate to Ochsner

We change and save lives every day.
Your support makes it possible.

Donate Now

Healthy living Tips, delivered right to your inbox

Athletic Training Outreach Program

Ochsner Athletic Training Outreach Program

Ochsner Sports Medicine Institute’s Athletic Training Outreach Program provides services to the greater New Orleans region spanning from Baton Rouge to Mississippi, providing quality healthcare to athletes competing in any sport.  Ochsner ATs are proficient in prevention, treatment, and maintenance of any sport related injury or health condition.  Our goal is to keep athletes safe and to prevent serious injury from occurring. 

Our ATs take time before competitions to ensure all appropriate staff know and understand the emergency action plans for the event, so if a serious sports injury occurs the athlete is taken care of promptly.  We work under the general supervision of an Ochsner Sports Medicine team physician.  Together we execute return to play guidelines post injury, and communicate return to learn/ return to play guidelines post-concussion. Ochsner ATs become a member of the team staff, they travel with the team and provide services for all practices and games as deemed necessary.

The Ochsner Athletic Training Outreach Program is the largest, longest sustaining and fastest growing athletic training outreach program in the state. We’re the team the New Orleans Saints and Pelicans trust with the care of their athletes. You can trust us with yours.

For more information about the services and benefits provided by Ochsner’s Athletic Training Outreach Program, click here to download a brochure.

What Does It Take to Become an Ochsner Athletic Trainer (AT)?

Athletic Trainers are allied healthcare professionals who, at minimum, hold bachelor’s degrees from a CAATE accredited athletic training curriculum. Over 50% of Ochsner ATs have earned their Master’s Degrees. Each athletic trainer in Ochsner’s outreach program is licensed by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners and has fulfilled the requirements for certification established by the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Board of Certification (NATABOC). Athletic trainers are entitled to use the designation “ATC” only after successfully completing the certification examination.

Ochsner ATs receives formal instruction in:

  • Human anatomy and physiology
  • Injury/illness prevention
  • Assessment of injury/illness
  • First aid and emergency care
  • Post-surgical/ return to play rehabilitation
  • Therapeutic modalities
  • Nutritional and psychological counseling

What’s more, Ochsner’s athletic trainers maintain certification requirements through local and national continuing medical education meetings and conferences. 

ATs at Your School

When an Ochsner AT is assigned to your school or event, it means:

  • Athletes receive immediate, on-site care for injuries – during practices and games
  • Fewer unnecessary trips to the emergency room
  • Peace of mind knowing an allied health professional is looking out for the best interests of the athlete on a daily basis
  • Decreased medical costs to parents/athletes
  • Increased communication between athletes, coaches, parents and providers
  • Decreased legal liability for your school or organization

Our Role

It is the Athletic Trainer’s job to:

  • Coordinate community outreach physicals and educational programs for students, coaches, and parents
  • Establish and implement re-conditioning programs in cooperation with physicians, and coaches
  • Provide taping, padding, bandaging, wrapping or bracing for injury prevention and protection
  • Call medical time-outs and make return-to-play decisions
  • Stay in contact with sports medicine physicians, allowing for improved communication and quality of care
  • Provide sport-specific rehabilitation at Ochsner Sports Medicine Institute under the direction of a physician
  • Provide administrative support with insurance
  • Make sure the school or organization is legally prepared
  • Coordinate with the Sports Medicine Navigator at Ochsner to provide same or next-day access to sports medicine or primary care physicians, sports nutritionists or specialty providers, for a seamless continuum of care

Saturday Morning Clinics

The Ochsner Sports Medicine Institute hosts Saturday Morning Clinics for middle and high school athletes in our program. If an athlete is injured in a Friday night game, they don’t have to wait until Monday to get the care they need.

Our Teams

Ochsner Athletic Trainers work with the following teams and organizations:

Athletic Training Leadership

Jordan Blough, LAT, ATC
Supervisor - Athletic Training Outreach Program
Outreach Athletic Trainer
Office: 504-736-4615
Cell: 941-356-7483
jblough@ochsner.org 

Colleen Amedee, LAT, ATC
Clinic Navigator
Outreach Athletic Trainer
504-842-6855
camedee@ochsner.org

Nichole LaBowe, MS, LAT, ATC
College Lead
Outreach Athletic Trainer
nichole.labowe@ochsner.org

David Pilet, LAT
Northshore Lead
Outreach Athletic Trainer
dpilet@ochsner.org

Courtney Rauschkolb, LAT, ATC
Southshore Private High School Lead
Outreach Athletic Trainer
crauschkolb@ochsner.org

Melina Todesco, MA, LAT, ATC
Southshore Public High School Lead
Outreach Athletic Trainer
mtodesco@ochsner.org

   

Sports Medicine Assistants

   

Rachel Burdette, ATC, LAT, OTC
Outreach Athletic Trainer and Sports Medicine Assistant to Dr. Deryk Jones
Rachel.Burdette@ochsner.org

   

Payton Kingsley, ATC, LAT, OTC
Outreach Athletic Trainer and Sports Medicine Assistant to Dr. Misty Suri
payton.kingsley@ochsner.org

   

Nicole Phegley, ATC, LAT, OTC
Outreach Athletic Trainer and Sports Medicine Assistant to Dr. Scott Montgomery
nicole.phegley@ochsner.org

Erica Taylor, MS, LAT, ATC, CES
Outreach Athletic Trainer and Sports Medicine Assistant to Dr. Andrew Gottschalk
etaylor@ochsner.org

Professional & College Athletic Trainers

Mark Armour II, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
marmour@ochsner.org

 

Pete Aune, MS, LAT, ATC, PES
Outreach Athletic Trainer
peter.aune@ochsner.org

James Edelman, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
james.edelman@ochsner.org

Jack Famiglio, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
jack.famiglio@ochsner.org

Tiffany Gary, MHRD, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
tgary@ochsner.org

 

Nick Holtgrieve, MS, LAT, ATC, CES
Outreach Athletic Trainer
nicholas.holtgrieve@ochsner.org

Nia Stewart, MS, LAT, ATC, CSS
Outreach Athletic Trainer
nia.stewart@ochsner.org

Reggie Stone, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
rstone@ochsner.org

Britt Vallot, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
bvallot@ochsner.org

Rebecca Younger, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
rebecca.younger@ochsner.org

High School Athletic Trainers

 

Hailee Athman
Outreach Athletic Trainer
hailee.athman@ochsner.org

Jeanne Baldwin, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
jbaldwin@ochsner.org

   

Jeff Berger, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
jeffrey.berger@ochsner.org

Cyd Bertrand, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
cbertrand@ochsner.org 

Jeff Bosarge, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
jeffery.bosarge@ochsner.org

     

Russell Carlisle, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
russell.carlisle@ochsner.org

Courtney Nunez
Outreach Athletic Trainer
courtney.nunez@ochsner.org

Delesseps Dolese, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
ddolese@ochsner.org

Dan Doucet, MS, LAT, ATC, LCEP
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
ddoucet@ochsner.org

Nicole Dufrene, LAT
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
ndufrene@ochsner.org

 

Andrew Duplantis
Outreach Athletic Trainer
andrew.duplantis@ochsner.org

Kacie Edwards, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
kacie.edwards@ochsner.org

  

Benjamin Evans, MS, LAT, ATC, CES
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
benjamin.evans@ochsner.org

Jonathan Ferguson, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
jonathan.ferguson@ochsner.org

Chuck Haaga, LAT, ATC, CSCS
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
chaaga@ochsner.org

Michelle Harrell, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
mharrell@ochsner.org

 

Jennifer Hyde, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
jennifer.hyde@ochsner.org

 

Kim Keller, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
kimberly.keller@ochsner.org

 

Eric Kastrup
Outreach Athletic Trainer
eric.kastrup@ochsner.org

Becky Mihalovits, MS, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
rebecca.mihalovits@ochsner.org

Sean McDaniel, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
smcdaniel@ochsner.org

Amanda Palazola, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
apalazola@ochsner.org

 

Bethany Perez, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
bethany.perez@ochsner.org

Amber Petrey, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
amber.petrey@ochsner.org

    

Ryan Pickert, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
ryan.pickert@ochsner.org

Raymond Raphael, MS, LAT, LPN, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
rraphael@ochsner.org

Eric Richardson, MS, LAT, ATC, CES, PES
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
eric.richardson@ochsner.org

Marissa St. Pe, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer
marissa.stpe@ochsner.org

 

Sara Schexnayder, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
sara.schexnayder@ochsner.org

Kristina Tyson, LAT, ATC
Outreach Athletic Trainer 
kristina.tyson@ochsner.org

Contact Us

Get an AT on Your Team

If you’re a coach, athletic director, principal, school superintendent, club director or school nurse looking for more information about Ochsner’s Athletic Training Outreach Program, contracts or other services, contact:

Jordan Blough, LAT, ATC
Supervisor - Athletic Training Outreach Program

Ochsner Sports Medicine Institute
1201 S. Clearview Parkway, Suite 104
Jefferson, LA 70121

Office: 504-736-4615
Cell: 941-356-7484 
jblough@ochsner.org

  Brandon Rizzuto
504-782-3590
brandon.rizzuto@ochsner.org

For an appointment with one of our sports health physicians, please call:

Ochsner Sports Medicine Institute

  • Greater New Orleans area: 504-736-4800
  • North Shore 985-898-7272